Fuck Buttons - Heaven

Right, after last night’s breathless gush which, despite it’s zero informational content, got the emotional aspect of the gig Bang On, I’d better write something a bit more, you know, useful.

So, I arrived in plenty of time to catch Clark, which meant enjoying a lovely opening mid-tempo set from Andrew Weatherall (or, as I like to think of him, Daddy Weatherall) – lots of chunky, bassy beats but in a relatively laidback style. Shame he was stuck up in the DJ booth, high in the room, at the opposite end of the stage he deserved some face-to-face lurve.

Clark at HeavenThe room filled quite quickly and there was a decent crowd in to hear hardware-botherer Clark. I liked his Throttle Clarence album of 2006, but his set was disjointed and didn’t flow as nicely as I would have liked. He managed to make glitch chuggy – which is quite a feat. Must say, I got a bit bored and went for a wander, getting mildly more interested toward the end of the set…

DJ Weatherall returned, lifting the tempo and playing some very tasty techno indeed, ending with some weird whistling sort of number.

Fuck Buttons at Heaven

And then twas time for Fuck Buttons and moved forwards, like I was 16, close enough to those front speakers to get a proper earful. Hell, I was likely to spend most of the night with my eyes closed, the view didn’t matter so much. I have seen them twice before, once in the Ballroom at the Royal Festival Hall (randomly playing after a great Massive Attack gig) and once supporting Mogwai at the Hammersmith Apollo. This was the first time hearing them play a proper headline slot and I was interested to hear what would be different.

A few technical things – the sound and lighting were great. Nice mirrorball upstage ON the stage which created a lovely sparkle on the backwall. The lighting op was properly into it as well – on the ball with some excellent strobe and moving light work.

They opened with Surf Solar and a little voice inside of me said, ‘Fuck. Yes.’ Those skittering little percussive beats hit and I was away.Fuck Buttons - Benjamin John Power

When I first heard Street Horrrsing, it just clicked. Love at first listen and, given that it’s two blokes, a suitcase and a bunch of electronics I think the best thing about seeing Fuck Buttons is hearing that music that I love so intensely played REALLY FUCKING LOUD. Just like it should be.

Fuck Buttons - Andrew HungHighlights of the set were a fantastic rendition of ‘Bright Tomorrow’ and ‘Flight of the Feathered Serpent’ but the big surprise was ‘Olympians’ – the one track on Tarot Sport I wasn’t really feeling but which, on the night, provoked the deepest response. I started thinking all about the wonder of art and felt an intense appreciation for music that feels so incredibly right.

Last track was ‘Sweet Love for Planet Earth’ and let me tell you, I was feelin’ it.